Walking Pads for Heavier Users: 130–150 kg Weight Limits Explained

How this guide was made: We have not tested these products ourselves. Our assessments use the specifications, prices and policies published by manufacturers and retailers. We checked them on 24 September 2026. Links marked “affiliate” earn Resolve Fitness a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure and how we research.

Maximum user weight is one of the most important numbers on a walking pad, and one of the least explained. Many budget pads are rated at 100–120 kg, which rules them out for a lot of adults. This guide explains how to read the rating and lists higher-rated models available in Ireland.

Key points

  • The maximum user weight is the manufacturer’s upper limit, not a comfortable everyday load. Leave a margin of about 15–20 kg.
  • Higher-rated pads tend to have longer, wider belts and heavier frames, so check storage space too.
  • On the models we compared, the Y3 and Y5 are rated for 150 kg, and the Y1 for 145 kg.
  • Using a pad above its rating can put strain on the motor and frame, and it may void the warranty.

How to read a weight limit

Manufacturers rarely publish how they set a maximum user weight. As a buyer, the rating is best treated as a ceiling. Walking adds dynamic load with every step, and running adds much more. Leaving a margin below the stated limit is a common-sense way to reduce strain on the motor, belt and frame. When a listing gives two different figures, as some do, rely on the lower one and ask the seller in writing.

Higher-rated walking pads sold in Ireland

Home Fitness Code Y1 walking pad with the front raised to show its incline (retailer product image)
Image supplied by the retailer, Home Fitness Code. It shows the product; it is not our own photo.
ModelPrice from*Max userBelt (L×W)InclineMotorNet weight
Y5 (Home Fitness Code)€219.99150 kg97 × 40 cm0–15% autoBrushless, 3.0 HP peak19.5 kg
Y3 (Home Fitness Code)€199.99150 kg97 × 39 cm0–12% autoBrushless, 2.5 HP peak21 kg
Y1 (Home Fitness Code)€169.99145 kg98 × 40 cm0–12% autoBrushed, 3.0 HP peak26 kg
Domyos W500B (Decathlon)€400130 kgNot statedNone statedNot statedNot stated
For comparison: T7 / Z3 / C1€99.99–€109.99120 kg90–97 × 38–39 cm5% manualVaries13–17.5 kg
Retailer specifications checked 24 September 2026. *Lowest variant price. Decathlon is not an affiliate partner.

Which one?

  • Y5: 150 kg rating, the widest powered incline and a brushless motor, and lighter than the Y1. It is the most expensive of the three. Check price Affiliate
  • Y3: also rated for 150 kg, for about €20 less, with 12% maximum incline. Check price Affiliate
  • Y1: 145 kg and the lowest price for powered incline. It is heavy to move (26 kg) and uses a brushed motor with a higher noise claim. Check price Affiliate
  • Domyos W500B at Decathlon: a lower 130 kg rating but a longer stated warranty (2 years, frame 5 years), and in-store collection is available.

If you are close to or above 150 kg, a walking pad may not be the right tool. A sturdier folding treadmill or a recumbent exercise bike could be kinder to both you and the machine. Check each model’s rating carefully, because many bikes are rated for 120 kg.

Comfort and safety tips

  • Wear supportive, cushioned shoes; walking pads have less deck cushioning than gym treadmills.
  • Start at a slow speed and short sessions, and build up gradually.
  • Consider a model with a handrail if you want something to steady yourself.
  • Place the pad on a firm, level floor or a dense mat so the deck does not flex or shift.
  • If you have joint pain, a heart condition or another health concern, talk to your GP before starting a new exercise routine.

Frequently asked questions

What happens if I exceed the weight limit?

The machine may still run, but you risk premature wear, belt slipping, motor overheating and a warranty claim being refused. It is not worth the risk.

Does a higher weight limit mean a better walking pad?

Not necessarily, but higher-rated pads usually have sturdier frames and larger belts. The trade-off is extra size, weight and price.

Are handrails available for these models?

Home Fitness Code lists with-handrail and without-handrail variants for several models, at different prices. Check the options on each product page.